FSA testing stands for Florida Standards Assessments. It has taken the place of FCAT. It aims to measure if students have mastered the state standards. Starting from 3rd grade, FSA focuses on ELA, writing, and mathematics. Science is assessed in both 5th and 8th grade. In high school, there are also EOC exams for certain subjects.

Have questions? Check out our FAQ below for answers to some common questions. 

How is the test taken?

Grades 3-6 take paper based tests. Older grades beyond 6th, take computer based tests. Students with a 504 plan or IEP stating the need for a paper-based test, will be provided one. 

How long is the test?

It depends on the grade level and specific test being taken. Find out more on the FSA's website

What score does my child need to pass?

There are 5 achievement levels. A level 3 or higher means the student has mastered the standards. In 3rd grade, students need to receive a 2 or higher on the FSA ELA Reading to be promoted. 

What happens if my child does not pass?

If your child receives a level 1 in 3 rd grade, take a look at the Good Cause Exemption. There can be other methods to show your child is at a level 2 in ELA/reading. 

Can my child opt out of the test?

All public school students are required to take the FSA testing. Under certain conditions and circumstances, a parent may opt for a SAT-10 (achievement test) or other methods to show the student is meeting what is considered a level 2. It has to be ran by the school and teacher, as not all schools accept this.

You can find out more about the SAT-10 here

How can I help prepare my child?

Although there is a lot of pressure surrounding these tests, it is important to help your child relax. Encourage them to do their best. On the FSA portal, there are practice tests to familiarize you and your student on how the test will be formatted.